TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

New Date Announced for 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards Nominations Announcement

John Lloyd Young and Linda Lavin will announce the Drama Desk Awards nominations on April 29. logo

Linda Lavin
(© David Gordon)
The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards has changed the date of the announcement for the 2013 nominations. They will now take place on Monday, April 29 at 11:00am at 54 Below.

Drama Desk Award winner Linda Lavin (The New Century) will join the previously announced Drama Desk Award winner John Lloyd Young (Jersey Boys) to make the announcement that will be webcast live on

A reception for the nominees will be held on Wednesday, May 8 from 10:00am-1:00pm at The Grand Salon of the JW Marriott Essex House on 160 Central Park South.

The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on Sunday, May 19 at 8:00pm at Town Hall (123 W. 43rd Street). will present the awards ceremony. Gretchen Shugart is Managing Executive Producer of the Drama Desk Awards. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show. The President of Drama Desk is Isa Goldberg and Randie Levine Miller is Director of Special Events.

The Awards show is written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (cofounder and artistic director of the Transport Group).

Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway. What sets Drama Desk Awards apart is that they are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors, and publishers covering theater, "without any vested interest in the results." For this reason, Drama Desk Awards reflect both enthusiasm for all aspects of New York's professional theater and a level of erudition and theatrical experience unparalleled in our industry's other prize-giving organizations.

The 2012-2013 Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of Barbara Siegel, Chairperson ( and freelance), David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theater Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts), and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

In addition to TheaterMania and Gretchen Shugart, Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone, in association with Renee McCurry are Executive Producers of Drama Desk Awards.

For more information, please visit: