TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Matthew Broderick to Host York Gala Honoring Susan Stroman

The event will take place November 12.

Matthew Broderick will host the York Theatre Company's 2018 gala.
(© Allison Stock)

Matthew Broderick will host the York Theatre Company's 2018 gala, at which Susan Stroman will be honored with the 2018 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre. The gala will be held Monday, November 12, at the Edison Ballroom.

The evening will bring together a cast of 60 performers re-creating numbers from Stroman's musicals, including The Producers, Crazy for You, Contact, and more. Artists currently scheduled to appear are Lynn Ahrens, Sierra Boggess, Nick Cordero, Stephen Flaherty, John Kander, William Ivey Long, Terrence Mann, Debra Monk, Brad Oscar, Laura Osnes, Bryonha Marie Parham, Tiler Peck, David Thompson, Kaley Ann Voorhees, John Weidman, Tony Yazbeck, and Karen Ziemba.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award is named in honor of the legendary lyricist and librettist who helped shape American musical theatre through his collaborations with a number of different composers and writers.

Additionally, the gala will honor Betty Cooper Wallerstein with the York Theatre Company Founders' Award.