TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lucille Lortel Awards Bestowed at Minetta Lane Theatre logo
Tony Kusher with his
Lucille Lortel Award
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
The League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers bestowed its 19th annual Lucille Lortel Awards for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway in a ceremony held last evening at the Minetta Lane Theatre.

Caroline, or Change and Bug led the winners with four awards each. Kathleen Chalfant, The Public Theater, and Noche Flamenca each received special awards. In addition to winning an award for writing the book and lyrics for Caroline, or Change, Tony Kushner was inducted into (onto?) the Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre on Christopher Street. The complete list of award recipients follows:


Outstanding Play
Bug, by Tracy Letts, produced by Scott Morfee, Amy Danis, and Mark Johannes

Outstanding Musical
Caroline, or Change, by Tony Kushner and Jeanine Tesori, produced by The Public Theater

Outstanding Solo Show
I Am My Own Wife, starring Jefferson Mays, written by Doug Wright, produced by Playwrights Horizons

Outstanding Director
Dexter Bullard, Bug

Outstanding Choreographer
Hope Clarke, Caroline, or Change

Outstanding Lead Actor
Brían F. O'Byrne, Frozen

Outstanding Lead Actress
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change

Outstanding Featured Actor
Will McCormack, The Long Christmas Ride Home

Outstanding Featured Actress
Anika Noni Rose, Caroline, or Change

Outstanding Scenic Design
Derek McLane, I Am My Own Wife

Outstanding Costume Design
Catherine Zuber, The Beard of Avon

Outstanding Lighting Design
Tyler Micoleau, Bug

Outstanding Sound Design
Brian Ronan, Bug

Unique Theatrical Experience
Noche Flamenca

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence
Kathleen Chalfant

Outstanding Body of Work
The Public Theater

Tagged in this Story