TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lortels Smile on the Bat Boy

Proof, Jitney, The Unexpected Man, and Bat Boy The Musical are among the recipients of Lucille Lortel Award nominations this year. logo

Embraced by several critics but reviled by what seems to be a considerable percentage of audience members, Bat Boy The Musical did very well in the just-announced nominations for the 16th annual Lucille Lortel Awards, garnering four nominations. Other especially popular shows among the Lortel nominators were Proof, Jitney, and The Unexpected Man (with six nominations each) and Ten Unknowns (with five nominations). The winners will be announced on April 23 and will then be honored in a ceremony at the Lucille Lortel Theatre on May 7, to be emceed by Alan Cumming. The ceremony will also feature a lifetime achievement award to Kitty Carlisle Hart "for her unswerving support of the arts."

The Lucille Lortel Awards are given for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway. A complete list of this year's nominees follows.

Outstanding Play of 2001:
Ten Unknowns
The Play About The Baby
The Unexpected Man

Outstanding Musical of 2001
American Rhapsody
Bat Boy The Musical
The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin

Outstanding Revival of 2001:
for colored girls who considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Juno and the Paycock
Tiny Alice
What the Butler Saw

Outstanding Actor of 2001:
Alan Bates (The Unexpected Man)
Glenn Fitzgerald (Lobby Hero)
Deven May (Bat Boy The Musical)
Brian Murray (The Play About the Baby)
Donald Sutherland (Ten Unknowns)

Outstanding Actress of 2001:
Eileen Atkins (The Unexpected Man)
Janie Dee (Comic Potential)
Mary Beth Fisher (Boy Gets Girl)
Mary Louise Parker (Proof)
Marian Seldes (The Play About the Baby)

Outstanding Featured Actor of 2001:
Tate Donovan (Lobby Hero)
Dion Graham (Lobby Hero)
Justin Kirk (Ten Unknowns)
Alec Mapa (Dogeaters)
Howard Witt (Boy Gets Girl)

Outstanding Featured Actress of 2001:
Johanna Day (Proof)
Randy Graff (A Class Act)
Julianna Margulies (Ten Unknowns)
Julia Murney (Time and Again)
Ching Valdes-Aran (Dogeaters)

Outstanding Director of 2001:
Mark Brokaw (Lobby Hero)
Michael Greif (Dogeaters)
Simon McBurney (Mnemonic)
Marion McClinton (Jitney)
Daniel Sullivan (Proof)

Outstanding Choreography of 2001:
A.C. Ciulla (The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin)
Christopher Gatelli (Bat Boy The Musical)
Daniel Pelzig (newyorkers)
Donald Saddler (American Rhapsody)
Maria Torres (4 Guys Named Jose... And Una Mujer Named Maria!)

Outstanding Set Design of 2001:
John Arnone (Tiny Alice)
John Lee Beatty (Proof )
Ralph Funicello (Ten Unknowns)
Mark Thompson (The Unexpected Man)
David Gallo (Jitney)

Outstanding Costume Design of 2001:
Jane Greenwood (Old Money)
Susan Hilferty (Jitney)
Constance Hoffman (Tiny Alice)
Fabio Toblini (Bat Boy The Musical)
David C. Woolard (The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin)

Outstanding Lighting Design of 2001:
Betsy Adams/Martha Swetzoff (The Laramie Project)
Paul Anderson (Mnemonic)
Pat Collins (Proof)
Donald Holder (Jitney)
Hugh Vanstone (The Unexpected Man)

Outstanding Sound Design of 2001:
Mark Bennett/Michael Creason (Dogeaters)
David Bullard/Mic Pool (The Unexpected Man)
T. Richard Fitzgerald (4 Guys Named Jose... And Una Mujer Named Maria!)
Robert Milburn (Jitney)
Christopher Shutt (Mnemonic)

Tagged in this Story