TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Letts, Lucas, Miranda, Stein, et al. to Receive Dramatists Guild Awards logo
Lin-Manuel Miranda
(© Tristan Fuge)
Recipients of the 2008 Dramatists Guild Awards have been announced. The awards will be presented at a gala celebration at The Players on Tuesday, November 18, beginning at 7 pm. Christopher Durang will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Joseph Stein will receive the Dramatists Guild Lifetime Achievement Award; Tracy Letts is the recipient of the Hull-Warriner Award, given by dramatists to dramatists and presented to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious or social mores of the times; Lin-Manuel Miranda will be given the Frederick Loewe Award, presented to a composer; Craig Lucas will be awarded the Flora Roberts Award, presented to a theater professional in recognition of distinguished work in the theater and to encourage the continuation of that work; and Rita and Burton Goldberg will receive The Kitty Carlisle Hart Award, a new award to recognize outstanding philanthropy in the education and support of writers for the theater.

As previously announced, Laura Jacqmin will be awarded the Wasserstein Prize, administered by the Dramatists Guild and the Educational Foundation of America and presented to a young female writer who has yet to achieve national recognition.

Tickets are $75 per person. For tickets or more information, call 212-864-7827.

Tagged in this Story