TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Jonny Orsini and Lloyd Mayor Win 2013 Clive Barnes Awards

The honors were bestowed on the rising actor and dancer on January 6.

The 2013 Clive Barnes Awards, which recognizes the work of young actors and dancers in New York City, were presented on January 6 during a ceremony at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theatre.

Theater nominee Amber Iman (Soul Doctor), winner Jonny Orsini (The Nance), and nominees Phillipa Soo (Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812), and Aaron Clifton Moten (The Flick).
(© David Gordon)

Jonny Orsini, who currently appears in Lincoln Center Theater's production of Macbeth, received the theater honor for his performance in the 2013 drama The Nance. The theater nominees also included Aaron Clifton Moten of The Flick, Phillipa Soo of Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812, and Amber Iman of Soul Doctor.

Dance nominee Talli Jackson (Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company), winner Lloyd Mayor (Martha Graham Dance Company), and nominees Calvin Royal III (American Ballet Theatre), and Xiaochuan Xie (Martha Graham Dance Company).
(© David Gordon)

Martha Graham Dance Company's Lloyd Mayor received the dance award. He was nominated along with Talli Jackson (Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company), Xiaochuan Xie (Martha Graham Dance Company), and Calvin Royal III (American Ballet Theatre).

Presenters Wendy Whelan (New York City Ballet) and Tony Award-winning director/choreographer Susan Stroman (Bullets Over Broadway) flank past winner Rob McClure (Chaplin).
(© David Gordon)

The Clive Barnes Awards are presented by the Clive Barnes Foundation, named in honor of the late theater and dance critic.