TheaterMania Logo
Home link

John Logan Receives the 19th Annual Monte Cristo Award

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Judith Light, and more were on hand to celebrate the acclaimed playwright.

Last night the Eugene O'Neill Theatre Center honored playwright and screenwriter John Logan with the 19th Annual Monte Cristo Award, at the Edison Ballroom in New York City. Take a look at images from the event below.

O'Neill executive director Preston Whiteway and honoree John Logan at the Edison Ballroom.
(© Jemal Countess)

Lin Manuel-Miranda kicked off the evening, with Judith Light presenting Logan with the honor. Other guests included Aaron Tveit, Reed Birney, Krysta Rodiguez, Hunter Bell, Kate Baldwin, and O'Neill Theatre Center's executive director, Preston Whiteway.

Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda delivered the opening remarks at the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center's Monte Cristo Award Gala.
(© Jemal Countess)

The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent theater artist each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O'Neill's "pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence." Past recipients of the Award include Lin-Manuel Miranda, Judith Light, Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, Harold Prince, and George C. Wolfe.

Judith Light, honoree John Logan, and Preston Whiteway pose for a photo.
(© Getty Images)

John Logan developed the musical Superhero (which recently ran off-Broadway at Second Stage Theater) at the O'Neill's 2017 National Music Theater Conference. Logan earned a Tony Award for his play Red, and brings his stage adaptation of Moulin Rouge! to Broadway this summer.