TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Irwin, Ruehl, Seldes, Stritch, et al. to Celebrate Edward Albee logo
Edward Albee
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Maureen Anderman, Kathleen Butler, Ben Gazzara, George Grizzard, Timothy Hutton, Bill Irwin, James Karen, Elizabeth McCann, Brian Murray, Mercedes Ruehl, Marian Seldes, Joanna Steichen, Frances Sternhagen, Elaine Stritch, Richard Thomas, and Elizabeth Wilson will be among the guests saluting playwright Edward Albee when he receives The Players Club's Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award on September 30.

Albee is the winner of three Pulitzer Prizes (for A Delicate Balance, Seascape and Three Tall Women), and a special 2005 Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement. He will be well represented this theatrical season with the New York premiere next month of Peter and Jerry at Second Stage, which combines the playwright's landmark one-act The Zoo Story with a more newly minted companion piece, Homelife; the world premiere of his latest play Me, Myself, and I at Princeton's McCarter Theatre in January; a production of his two one-acts The American Dream and The Sandbox, starring F. Murray Abraham, at the Cherry Lane in the spring; and a revival of his play Occupant at the Signature Theatre later in the season.

The gala will begin with cocktails at 6pm, followed by dinner and the award presentation. The Edwin Booth Award has previously been presented to such luminaries as Helen Hayes, Jose Ferrer, Garson Kanin, Jason Robards, Jack Lemmon, Christopher Plummer, and Angela Lansbury.

For more information, call 212-475-6116.

Tagged in this Story