TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hughes and Janki to Receive Callaway Awards logo
Devanand Janki
(Photo © Michael Portantiere)
The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation has announced the 2003 winners and finalists for its Joe A. Callaway Awards, presented annually to a director and a choreographer for excellence in their craft as applied to Off-Broadway or Off-Off-Broadway productions.

This year's winners are Douglas Hughes for his direction of Flesh and Blood at the New York Theatre Workshop and Devanand Janki for his choreography of Zanna, Don't!. The awards will be presented at a special industry/press ceremony to be held on November 10. The finalists in both award categories are listed below:

Michael Engler, Talking Heads
Douglas Hughes, Flesh and Blood
Joe Mantello, A Man of No Importance
Joe Mantello, Take Me Out
Nicholas Martin, Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Towards the Somme
Marshall Mason, Book of Days
Jason Moore, Avenue Q

Graciela Daniele, Little Fish
Devanand Janki, Zanna, Don't!

Tagged in this Story