TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hoffman, O'Hara, Sheik, Testa, Tunie, et al. to Perform at NYMF Gala logo
Duncan Sheik
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Jackie Hoffman, Kelli O'Hara, Duncan Sheik, Mary Testa, and Tamara Tunie will be among the performers at the New York Musical Theatre Festival Awards Gala, which will take place at the Hudson Theatre on November 4.

The gala will celebrate the 2007 NYMF Excellence Award winners (see previous story for full list of recipients), and honor three young Broadway producers -- Robert Ahrens (Xanadu), Pun Bandhu (Spring Awakening) and Jennifer Maloney (Legally Blonde, Spring Awakening). In addition, the 2007 Theater for the American Musical (TAM) Award will be given to Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years), written by Kate Ferguson with Robert Hudson (book), Susannah Pearse (lyrics), and Jared M. Dembrowski (music).

Performers will include Xanadu's Hoffman and Testa, and author Douglas Carter Beane; Spring Awakening's Tony Award winning composer Sheik, director Michael Mayer, and lead producer Tom Hulce; Tunie (Law and Order SVU); O'Hara (The Light in the Piazza, The Pajama Game); Anna Noguiera and Michael Zahler from NYMF's The Boy In The Bathroom; Sarah Jane Everman from NYMF's Unlock'd; Laura Shoop (Fiddler on the Roof) from Sherlock Holmes (The Early Years); and Shonn Wiley (42nd Street, Dracula) from NYMF's Mud Donahue and Son; as well as additional performers.

The gala will begin at 6pm with a cocktail reception and silent auction, followed by a sit-down dinner and performances. The evening will be directed by Steven Yuhasz. For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story