TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Here We Are is Here Again

The avant-garde production of Here We Are returns to The Living Theatre for a limited engagement.

Here We Are production artwork.
The Living Theatre continues its 66th year with the return of Here We Are. Written and directed by Judith Malina, the avant-garde production will play a limited run at the Clemente Soto Vélez Cultural and Educational Center from March 26-29.

In Here We Are, Malina examines what art can produce and why art and life are more interconnected than we have previously been willing to accept. Set in a world of disarray, the play questions how decisions are made, how we govern ourselves, and how we can find better solutions to our problems. Audience participation is encouraged as the ensemble and audience work together to create and perform potential innovative solutions for a post-revolutionary world of "beauty and nonviolence." Here We Are examines the inadequacy and inefficacy of the voting process, which is the primary cause of our inadequately organized society and the reason we do not live in the world we aspire to create.

Despite the closing of The Living Theatre's Clinton Street venue, which opened in 2007, the company will continue to produce their distinctive avant-garde political theatre in New York City. The Living Theatre advocates exploration in different theatrical forms including audience participation, new methods of communication, and social and political organization. Julian Beck and Judith Malina cofounded the company in 1947 as an alternative to commercial theater. They will continue to lead the company with Associate Artistic Directors Brad Burgess and Tom Walker. Malina will also be taking up residency at the Actors Fund's Lillian Booth Actors Home in New Jersey following Here We Are. The piece holds the title of longest-running show for the company in one venue in New York City.

The cast includes Leah Bachar, Soraya Broukhim, Brad Burgess, Jay Dobkin, Eno Edet, Leonie Ettinger, John Paul Harkins, Thaddeus Harvey, Jen Emma Hertel, Dennis Yueh-Yeh Li, K'Sandra Nova, Mary Round, Tom Walker, Eleanor Westbrook, and Fabian Zarta. The design team includes Nicholas Benacerraf (sets) and Simon Harding (lighting), with music composition by David Personne. Nathan Shreeve serves as Assistant Director.

For more information and tickets, visit The Living Theatre's website here.