TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Henry Hewes Design Awards Announced logo
David Rockwell
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The honorees for the 47th annual Henry Hewes Design Awards have been announced. The awards will be presented in a luncheon ceremony this winter.

John Lee Beatty will be honored for his scenic design of The Whipping Man, presented by Manhattan Theatre Club. William Ivey Long will be honored for his costume design for Classic Stage Company's The School for Lies. The award for lighting design will be presented to Jeff Croiter for the New York Theatre Workshop production of Peter and the Starcatcher. David Rockwell and Batwin+Robin will be honored for their work, respectively, on the scenery and projections of the Broadway production of The Normal Heart.

In total, 86 theater artists were nominated for outstanding work in 61 productions during the 2010-2011 New York season.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee is chaired by Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, and includes TheaterMania's managing editor Dan Bacalzo, as well as fellow theater critics David Barbour, David Cote, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Helen Shaw, and Joan Ungaro.


Tagged in this Story