TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Harvey Fierstein to Host 2009 Drama Desk Awards logo
Harvey Fierstein
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Four-time Tony Award-winner Harvey Fierstein will host the 54th annual Drama Desk Awards, to be held at the F.H. LaGuardia Concert Hall at Lincoln Center, on Sunday, May 17, at 9 pm, directed by Jeff Kalpak.

This will mark the fourth time Fierstein has hosted the awards, having previously emceed them in 2004, 2005 and 2006. Fierstein's Torch Song Trilogy, which opened on Broadway in 1982, won him two Tony Awards, two Drama Desk Awards, and the Dramatist Guild Award. He won his other two Tonys for his work on La Cage aux Folles and Hairspray/

As previously announced, Jim Dale and Faith Prince will announce nominations for the awards on Monday, April 27 at the New York Friars Club, at 9 am. This year's nominating committee consists of TheaterMania contributor Barbara Siegel (chair), TheaterMania's managing editor Dan Bacalzo, Christopher Byrne, Patrick Christiano, Jason Clark, Gerard Raymond, and Richard Ridge. The awards show will be webcast live for the seventh year in a row by

Tickets to the awards can be purchased by clicking here.

Tagged in this Story