TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hart, Larsen, Shindle, Wiley, et al. Win NYMF Awards for Excellence logo
Karen Murphy and Shonn Wiley
in Mud Donahue & Son
(© Carol Rosegg)
The winners for this year's NYMF Awards for Excellence, chosen from the 34 new musicals presented at the New York Musical Theatre Festival, have been announced. The awards will be presented at the NYMF Awards Gala, to take place at 6pm on Sunday, November 4 at the Hudson Theatre. The awards were chosen by a panel of 14 journalists performing artists, and industry professionals.

Eight actors will receive awards for individual performance: Stephen Bel Davies (Austentatious), Linda Hart (Gemini the Musical), Liz Larsen (Such Good Friends), Kate Shindle (Sympathy Jones), Laura Shoop (Sherlock Holmes: The Early Years), Mary Stout (The Boy in the Bathroom), Yuka Takara (The Yellow Wood), and Shonn Wiley (Mud Donahue and Son).

The Boy in the Bathroom received three other awards, for Most Promising New Musical, Excellence in Book (Michael Lluberes), and Excellence in Overall Design (Seth Easter, Carrie Wood, Lisa Renee Jordan, and Elizabeth Rodes).

Unlock'd won the Verizon Best in Fest Audience Prize; Danny Larsen won Excellence in Music for The Yellow Wood; Noel Katz and Marc Bruni won Excellence in Lyrics and Excellence in Direction, respectively, for Such Good Friends; Ron De Jesus, Linda Goodrich, Jeff Shade, Nick Kenkel, and Matt Williams won Excellence in Choreography for Platforms, and the cast of Going Down Swingin' won Outstanding Ensemble Performance.

Tickets to the NYMF Gala are $400 and $600 and can be ordered by calling 212-664-0979 or by visiting

Tagged in this Story