TheaterMania Logo
TV News

Broadway's Best Are Up for Grammy Awards

The music industry's highest honors will be presented tonight.

Jessie Mueller is a Grammy nominee for her work as a principal soloist on the Beautiful cast recording.
(© David Gordon)

The 57th Annual Grammy Awards will be presented in a ceremony at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles tonight. You can catch the show and root for your favorite nominated Broadway stars beginning at 8pm on CBS.

The list of nominees for the Best Musical Theater Album category is as follows:

James Monroe Iglehart, Adam Jacob, and Courtney Reed, principal soloists; Frank Filipetti, Michael Kosarin, Alan Menken, and Chris Montan, producers; Alan Menken, composer; Howard Ashman, Chad Beguelin, and Tim Rice, lyricists. (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Walt Disney Records

Beautiful — The Carole King Musical
Jessie Mueller, principal soloist; Jason Howland, Steve Sidwell, and Billy Jay Stein, producers; Carole King, composer and lyricist. (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Ghostlight/Razor & Tie

A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder
Jefferson Mays and Bryce Pinkham, principal soloists; Kurt Deutsch and Joel Moss, producers; Robert L. Freedman, lyricist; Steven Lutvak, composer and lyricist. (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Ghostlight/Razor & Tie

Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Lena Hall and Neil Patrick Harris, principal soloists; Justin Craig, Tim O'Heir, and Stephen Trask, producers; Stephen Trask, composer and lyricist. (Original Broadway Cast)
Label: Atlantic

West Side Story
Cheyenne Jackson and Alexandra Silber, principal soloists; Jack Vad, producer; Leonard Bernstein, composer; Stephen Sondheim, lyricist. (Cheyenne Jackson and Alexandra Silber With The San Francisco Symphony)
Label: SFS Media

In addition, Broadway songwriters Robert Lopez and Kristin Anderson-Lopez, earned a nod in the Best Song Written for Visual Media category for "Let It Go" from Frozen, sung by Tony winner Idina Menzel, who currently appears in Broadway's If/Then.

For a full list of Grammy nominees, click here.