TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

George Salazar, Orfeh, and More to Perform at Chairman's Awards Gala

As previously announced, Theatre Forward will honor Bryan Cranston and more at the annual event.

Be More Chill's George Salazar and Joe Iconis will perform at Theatre Forward's Chairman's Awards Gala.
(© David Gordon)

Theatre Forward and chairman John Thomopoulous have announced the lineup of presenters and performers at the annual Chairman's Awards Gala, which will take place on Monday, April 8, at the Pierre. As previously announced, Bryan Cranston (Network) will be honored with the Theatre Artist Award, Dorsey & White LLP will be honored with the Corporate Leadership Award, and Pamela Farr and Buford Alexander will receive the Theatre Forward Leadership Award.

Tony Goldwyn will present the Theatre Artist Award to his Network costar. As previously announced, Guthrie Theater artistic director Joseph Haj will present the Corporate Leadership Award, while Old Globe Erna Finci Viterbi artistic director Barry Edelstein will present the Theatre Forward Leadership Award.

The event will include performances by Ty Defoe (Straight White Men), George Salazar (Be More Chill), Aurelia Williams (Once on This Island), and Orfeh (Pretty Woman: The Musical), accompanied by Joe Iconis (Be More Chill) and Geraldine Anello (Kinky Boots). Jeremy Pope (Ain't Too Proud — The Life and Times of the Temptations), Regina Taylor (Crowns), and Richard Thomas (The Little Foxes) will speak about education and creating community in theater.

The event supports the work of Theatre Forward, which recently celebrated its 40th anniversary season, which is dedicated to advancing American theaters and its communities through its Educating Through Theatre and Advancing Strong Theatre initiatives.