TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

George C. Wolfe to Receive 2011 "Mr. Abbott" Award logo
George C. Wolfe
(© Tristan Fuge)
George C. Wolfe will receive the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers' 2011 "Mr. Abbott" Award in recognition of lifetime achievement as a director. The Award will be presented at a gala event in New York on Monday, October 3.

Wolfe, with Joel Grey, is a current Tony Award nominee for The Normal Heart. He has won two Tony Awards for his direction of Angels in America: Millennium Approaches and for Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk. He has also received Tony Award nominations for his direction of Caroline, Or Change, Jelly's Last Jam, and Angels in America: Perestroika as well as his books for The Wild Party and Jelly's Last Jam. Earlier this season, he was represented on Broadway with John Guare's A Free Man of Color. In addition to his work on Broadway, Wolfe was producer of the Public Theater.

The "Mr. Abbott" Award is named in honor of renowned director George Abbott and is one of the only awards given to theatre directors and choreographers by their peers. Past honorees have included Hal Prince, Susan Stroman, Lloyd Richards, Kathleen and Rob Marshall, Tommy Tune, and Michael Bennett.

For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story