TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Fred Ebb Foundation Donates $1.65 Million to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS

The late lyricist continues to support the theater community with an annual donation.

Lyricist Fred Ebb (right) with his longtime composing partner John Kander.

The Fred Ebb Foundation has announced a 2015 donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS totaling $1.65 million dollars, bringing the foundation's total contribution to BC/EFA to $11.65 million since it began 11 years ago. The foundation, funded by royalties from the late award-winning lyricist Fred Ebb's vast catalogue of work (which includes the legendary musicals Cabaret, Chicago, Kiss of the Spider Woman, and more) makes an annual donation to BC/EFA.

BC/EFA executive director Tom Viola said in a statement: "Fred Ebb's brilliant legacy – created with the extraordinary John Kander – has allowed BC/EFA to increase and expand its support for The Actors Fund to over $5.1 million in 2015 alone. Fred's generosity has offered BC/EFA the opportunity to expand its support to include the Artists Health Insurance Resource Center, the Fund's Addiction and Recovery Services and the Career Center, nurture our longtime commitment to the HIV/AIDS Initiative while increasing support for such programs as the Phyllis Newman Women's Health Initiative, the Al Hirschfeld Free Clinic, the Dancers' Resource and more. Fred, your extraordinary generosity to BC/EFA has made a profound difference in the lives of thousands of your colleagues and co-workers, friends and loved ones in ‘the business.' When I heard the number $1.65 million, I felt a bit like Cabaret's Fraulein Schneider when presented with a gift as rare, sweet and loving as this: ‘I think I will lie down for a few moments. My head is spinning.' Thank you, Fred. Your razzle-dazzle shines forever bright."

The Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company, also presents an annual award to aspiring musical theater songwriters. The Fred Ebb Award, which includes a $60,000 prize, recognizes excellence in musical theater songwriting, by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. This year's award was presented to Stacey Luftig and Phillip Palmer.