TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Eric Price and Will Reynolds Receive 2018 Fred Ebb Award

The honor was presented by Tony winner Alan Cumming.

Fred Ebb Award recipients Will Reynolds (left) and Eric Price (right) with presenter Alan Cumming.
(© David Gordon)

Songwriters Will Reynolds and Eric Price were honored with the 2018 Fred Ebb Award on Monday, November 28 at the American Airlines Theatre. Named for the late lyricist of Cabaret and Chicago, the awards were presented to Price and Reynolds by Tony winner Alan Cumming.

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical theater songwriting by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theater. The prize includes a $60,000 award. In addition to the monetary prize, the Fred Ebb Foundation will produce a one-night-only showcase of the winner's work.

Will Reynolds (second from left) and Eric Price (center) with performers Aisha Jackson (left), Jeremy Jordan, and Sara Jean Ford.
(© David Gordon)

The Fred Ebb Foundation is funded by royalties from the composer's vast catalogue of work. Past winners include John Bucchino (2005), Steve Lutvak and Robert L. Freedman (2006), Peter Mills (2007), Adam Gwon (2008), Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich (2009), Douglas C. Cohen (2010), Jeff Blumenkrantz (2011), Sam Willmott (2012), Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond (2013), Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen (2014), Stacey Luftig and Phillip Palmer (2015), Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore (2016), and Shaina Taub (2017).

The selection panel comprised actor Andréa Burns, foundation trustee Mitchell S. Bernard, lyricist and composer Sheldon Harnick, music director David Loud, music director Mary-Mitchell Campbell, and playwright Tim Pinckney. Each year, the foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

Eric Price and Will Reynolds pose for a photo with Fred Ebb's longtime writing partner, John Kander.
(© David Gordon)