TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Fishburne, Jones, Redgrave et al. Win L.A. Drama Critics Circle Awards logo
Lynn Redgrave in Nightingale
(© Craig Schwartz)
Laurence Fishburne, Cherry Jones, and Lynn Redgrave are among the winners of this year's Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle awards, which were presented last night at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. The ceremony was hosted by performance troupe Culture Clash, whose members received the Ted Schmitt Award for their world premiere play Water and Power; Wenzel Jones, theater critic for Back Stage West, served as co-host.

Three shows shared the honors for outstanding production: A Marvelous Party, Laguna Playhouse; Grace, the Furious Theatre Company; and The Brothers Karamazov, Circle X Theatre Co. A Noise Within's production of A Touch of the Poet won the T.H. McCulloh Award for Revival.

Fishburne and Jones received their awards in the lead performance category for their work in Fences at the Pasadena Playhouse and the national tour of Doubt at the Ahmanson, respectively. Redgrave received a solo performance award for her show Nightingale at the Mark Taper Forum.

Other notable awardees include Anthony Clarvoe for his adaptation of The Brothers Karamazov; playwright Craig Wright for his play Grace; Dakin Matthews for his featured performance in Water & Power; Robert Wilson for his lighting design of The Black Rider: The Casting of the Magic Bullets; and the casts of The Brothers Karamazov and The Marvelous Wonderettes, who shared ensemble honors.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story