TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Drama League to Honor Mike Nichols, BMI Musical Theatre Workshop, and Billy Rose Theatre Collection logo
Mike Nichols
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
Director Mike Nichols, the BMI Musical Theatre Workshop, and the Billy Rose Theatre Collection will be honored at the 71st Annual Drama League Awards ceremony, to be held at the Marriott Marquis on Friday, May 13 at noon. Actress Cherry Jones will host the event.

Nichols will receive the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing, to be presented by his Spamalot collaborator Eric Idle. The Billy Rose Theatre Collection will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award; the honor will be accepted by Jacqueline Davis, executive director of the Performing Arts Library at Lincoln Center, and collection curator Bob Taylor. On behalf of the BMI Musical Theatre Workshop, Avenue Q composers Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez will accept the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, to be presented by composer-lyricist Maury Yeston.

For the first time, tickets to the ceremony are available to the general public; they are priced at $150, which includes a one-year Drama League membership. Tickets may be purchased by calling The Drama League at 212-244-9494, ext. 5.

Tagged in this Story