TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Drama Desk Stars and Musical Numbers Announced

Bernadette Peters
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
The stars and musical numbers for the 48th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony have been announced. The event will be webcast live by beginning at 9pm on Sunday, May 18.

Previously announced host Chita Rivera (currently co-starring on Broadway in the revival of Nine) will be joined by Antonio Banderas (Nine), Jim Dale (Comedians), Tovah Feldshuh (Golda's Balcony), Harvey Fierstein (Hairspray), Sean Foley and Hamish McColl (The Play What I Wrote), Melanie Griffith (soon to join Broadway's Chicago), Bebe Neuwirth (Writer's Block), Bernadette Peters (Gypsy), Tommy Tune (Tommy Tune: White Tie and Tails), and Leslie Uggams (Thoroughly Modern Millie). Cabaret performer Billy Stritch, who recently appeared in 42nd Street, will be at the piano during the festivities.

Musical numbers scheduled to highlight the awards ceremony include "O soave fanciulla" from La Bohème, to be sung by Alfred Boe and Wei Huang, accompanied by Chip Prince; Jennifer Barnhart, John Tartaglia, and Rick Lyon in "If You Were Gay" from Avenue Q, accompanied by Gary Adler; Brian Stokes Mitchell performing "The Impossible Dream" from Man of La Mancha, accompanied by Cherie Rosen; and "Sometime Do You Think We Could Fall In Love" from Zanna, Don't!, featuring cast members Anika Larsen, Darius Nichols, Enrico Rodriguez, Jai Rodriguez, Amanda Ryan Paige, Robb Sapp, Shelley Thomas, and Jared Zeus.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts on Sunday, May 18. For ticket information, call 212-352-3101.


Tagged in this Story