TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Drama Desk Award Winners Set to Be Announced

Laura Benanti returns as host of the awards ceremony tonight.

Laura Benanti hosts the 2015 Drama Desk Awards.
(© Seth Walters)

Two-time Drama Desk Award-winning actress Laura Benanti will host the Drama Desk Awards ceremony tonight at Town Hall, where the winners of the 2015 honors will be announced. Written by Bill Rosenfield (with additional material by Benanti), the awards show will be presented by TheaterMania for the fourth consecutive year.

This year's nominations are led by the Public Theater's acclaimed Broadway-bound production of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton, which boasts 13 nods. The new Broadway musical An American in Paris follows close behind with 12. Other recognized productions include The Visit, starring Chita Rivera, the all-new musical comedy Something Rotten!, and the West End transfer of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

The Drama Desk Awards are an annual celebration of the best of Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway talent. The Drama Desk's voters select each year's winners from the pool of artists nominated in each of its 30 categories. The awards event is produced by Joey Parnes Productions, with TheaterMania CEO Gretchen Shugart serving as managing executive producer. Transport Group Theatre Company Artistic Director Jack Cummings III will direct.

For more information, click here.