TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

David Henry Hwang, Evan Yionoulis, et al. Announced as Obie Judges; Ceremony Set for May 16 logo
David Henry Hwang
(© Tristan Fuge)
The Village Voice has officially announced the judges for the 56th annual Obie Awards, which will be held at Webster Hall on Monday, May 16. Names of the ceremony's hosts, presenters and entertainment will be forthcoming.

The newspaper's chief theater critic, Michael Feingold chairs the committee, which also includes New Yorker critic Hilton Als, playwright David Henry Hwang, TheaterMania Associate Editor and critic Andy Propst, Voice critic Alexis Soloski, and director Evan Yionoulis.

Founded in 1955 by Voice cultural editor Jerry Tallmer, The Village Voice Obie Awards annually honor the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. There are no set categories for awards, and judges select outstanding artists and productions and may even invent new categories to reward artistic merit.

Tickets will be available for $25 to attend the ceremony soon. For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story