TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Danny Glover, Whoopi Goldberg, Spike Lee, S. Epatha Merkerson, et al. to Present at May 22 New Federal Gala logo
S. Epatha Merkerson
(© Tristan Fuge)
Dr. Mary Schmidt Campbell, Danny Glover, Whoopi Goldberg, Tommy Hicks, Ted Lange, Spike Lee, Pia Lindstrom, S. Epatha Merkerson, Lamman Rucker, Sonia Sanchez, Oz Scott, Susan Taylor, Robert Townsend, and Glynn Turman will serve as presenters at Woodie King, Jr.'s New Federal Theater's 40th anniversary Gala at the historic Edison Ballroom at 4:30pm on Sunday, May 22.

As previously reported. the event will be co-hosted by CBS News' Randall Pinkston and actress Lynn Whitfield. Chairmen for the event are Laurence Fishburne, John Morning, and Susan Taylor. The Honorary Chair is Dr. Maya Angelou.

In addition to celebrating NFT's vital contribution to the arts internationally, the Gala will feature special awards for 12 individuals and one organization that changed the cultural life of our nation: Sidney Poitier, Ntozake Shange, Ruby Dee, Alicia Keys, Hon. David Dinkins, Imhotep Gary Byrd, George Faison, Amiri Baraka, Rev. Malcolm Boyd, Elizabeth McCann, Carla Pinza, Terrie Williams and National Black Theatre Festival.

For tickets and information, call 212-838-2660, ext. 14 or visit click here.

Tagged in this Story