TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Daniel Beaty, Brandon Victor Dixon, Anna Deavere Smith, John Douglas Thompson, Charlayne Woodard et al. Nominated for Audelco Awards logo
Brandon Victor Dixon in
The Scottsboro Boys
(© Carol Rosegg)
The 38th annual Vivian Robinson/AUDELCO Recognition Awards for Excellence in Black Theatre will be presented at the Marian Anderson Theatre (133rd Street & Convent Avenue in Harlem) on Monday, November 15, at 7:30pm.

The new musical The Scottsboro Boys, currently in Broadway previews at the Lyceum Theatre, received four nominations for its Vineyard Theatre staging, including for that production's star, Brandon Victor Dixon; Susan Stroman for both direction and chorography; and Musical Production of the Year.

Also competing in that latter category is Langston in Harlem, which received additional nominations for director Kent Gash; performers Kenita Miller, Josh Tower, Glenn Turner, and C. Kelly Wright; and choreographer Byron Easley.

Rounding out the Musical Production category is Blind Lemon Blues, which also picked up nominations for Akin Babatunde in both director and choreographer categories, and for its acting ensemble.

Leading the play categories is The Brother/Sister Plays, which received nominations for Dramatic Production of the Year; playwright Tarell Alvin McCraney; directors Tina Landau and Robert O'Hara; lighting designer Peter Kaczorowski; costume designer Karen Perry; sound designer Lindsay Jones; and for the acting ensemble.

Another play with multiple nominations is Broke-ology, which is up for Dramatic Production of the Year; playwright Nathan Louis Jackson; director Thomas Kail; performers Francois Battiste, Colette Bryce, Wendell Pierce; and set designer Donyale Werle.

One of the most competitive categories this year is for solo performance, with nominees including Daniel Beaty (Through the Night), Colman Domingo (A Boy and His Soul), Perri Gaffney (The Resurrection of Alice), Anna Deavere Smith (Let Me Down Easy), and Charlayne Woodard (The Night Watcher).

Other nominated actors include Sheldon Best (Freed), Amari Chetom (The Book of Grace), Crystal A. Dickinson(Clybourne Park), Harriet D. Foy (On the Levee), Damon Gupton (Clybourne Park), Bambi Jones (Nunsense), and John Douglas Thompson (The Emperor Jones).

For more information, including a complete list of nominations, visit

Tagged in this Story