TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Dale, Eikenberry, Plunkett, Rae, Rupert, Tucker, et al. to Honor Irving at York Gala logo
George S. Irving
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Joy Abbott, Loni Ackerman, Jim Dale, Jill Eikenberry, Anita Gillette, Josh Grisetti, Maryann Plunkett, Jane Powell, Charlotte Rae, Michael Rupert, and Michael Tucker will participate in a York Theatre Company gala, honoring George S. Irving, at the Players Club on December 8. The presentation will be directed by Donald Saddler.

Irving will receive the 17th Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre at the event, which will begin at Japonais (111 East 18th Street) with a cocktail reception at 5:00 pm, featuring both live and silent auctions with dinner to follow. The concert celebration of Irving's career will take place at The Players Club at 8:15 pm, and the evening will conclude with a champagne/dessert reception and cast party for all attendees.

Irving is currently appearing in the York's hit revival of Enter Laughing. He won a Tony Award for his performance in Irene and a Drama Desk for his work in An Evening with Richard Nixon. His many other Broadway credits include the original company of Oklahoma!, Me and My Girl, So Long, 174th Street, and I Remember Mama.

Past recipients of the Oscar Hammerstein Award include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton and Joseph Stein. The award will be presented by Alice Hammerstein Mathias.

Ticket prices begin at $175. To order or for more information, call call 212-935-5824, ext. 15 or visit

Tagged in this Story