TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Christopher Durang, Will Eno, Adam Rapp Win 2012 PEN Awards logo
Christopher Durang
(© David Gordon)
Winners of the 2012 PEN Awards, honoring outstanding voices in literature, have been announced. Award winners and runners-up will be honored in a ceremony to be held at CUNY Graduate Center's Proshansky Auditorium in New York City on Tuesday, October 23.

Christopher Durang has won the award for Master American Dramatist. The playwright's new Chekhov-inspired play Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike will be playing both McCarter Theater and Lincoln Center this season. His numerous works include A History of the American Film, Sister Mary Ignatius Explains It All for You, Baby with the Bathwater, The Marriage of Bette and Boo, Laughing Wild, Betty's Summer Vacation, Mrs. Bob Cratchit's Wild Christmas Binge, Miss Witherspoon, Beyond Therapy, and Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love.

Two recipients will be honored as American Playwright in Mid-Career: Will Eno -- whose Title and Deed recently played at the Signature's Pershing Square Signature Center -- and Adam Rapp -- whose Through the Yellow Hour debuts at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater in September.

These playwriting awards come with a prize of $7,500.

For a complete list of winners, visit

Tagged in this Story