TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Cerveris, Cook, Esparza, Harris, et al. to Present Theatre World Awards logo
Michael Cerveris
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Michael Cerveris, Barbara Cook, Jennifer Ehle, Patricia Elliott, Raul Esparza, Boyd Gaines, Rosemary Harris, and John McMartin will be among the presenters at the 63rd annual Theatre World Awards, which honor 12 Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut performances during the 2006-2007 theatrical season.

The presentation will take place at an invitation-only ceremony at New World Stages on Tuesday, June 5, hosted by TheaterMania contributor Peter Filichia. All of the aforementioned presenters were past recipients of the Theatre World Award.

A full list of winners is below. In addition, a special award will be given to The Actors' Fund in honor of its 125th Anniversary, which will be accepted by the organization's president, actor Brian Stokes Mitchell.

This year's Theatre World Awards committee consists of Peter Filichia (TheaterMania), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post), Michael Sommers (Newhouse Newspapers), Doug Watt (critic emeritus, New York Daily News), and Linda Winer (New York Newsday).


2007 Theatre World Award Winners
Fantasia Barrino, The Color Purple
Eve Best, A Moon for the Misbegotten
Mary Birdsong, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me
Erin Davie, Grey Gardens
Xanthe Elbrick, Coram Boy
Johnny Galecki, The Little Dog Laughed
Jonathan Groff, Spring Awakening
Gavin Lee, Mary Poppins
Lin-Manuel Miranda, In the Heights
Bill Nighy, The Vertical Hour
Stark Sands, Journey's End
Nilaja Sun, No Child

Tagged in this Story