TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Casting Announced for Broadway by the Year Concert in Celebration of "The Broadway Musicals of 1925" logo

Howard McGillin
The first production of the 2003 Broadway by the Year season, "The Broadway Musicals of 1925," will star Howard McGillin (The Phantom of the Opera, Kiss of the Spider Woman), Nancy Anderson (A Class Act, Kiss Me, Kate on tour and in London), Justin Bohon (Oklahoma!), Stephanie J. Block (the upcoming Broadway production of Stephen Schwartz's Wicked), and Walker Jones (a Public Theater veteran).

More than 13 musicals will be represented at the concert on Monday, February 17 at 8pm, including such titles as No, No, Nanette (music by Vincent Youmans, lyrics by Irving Caesar), Tip Toes (music by George Gershwin, lyrics by Ira Gershwin), The Garrick Gaieties (music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Lorenz Hart), Sunny (music by Jerome Kern, lyrics by Otto Harbach and Oscar Hammerstein II), and Big Boy (music by James F. Hamley and Joseph Meyer, lyrics by Buddy DeSylva).

The Broadway by the Year series, now in its third season, was created and is written and hosted by TheaterMania's Scott Siegel. Also to be presented in this year's series are "The Broadway Musicals of 1939" on March 17, "The Broadway Musicals of 1953" on May 12, and "The Broadway Musicals of 1960" on June 9.

All shows are one night only and will be performed at The Town Hall, 123 West 43rd Street. A limited number of tickets are still available for "The Broadway Musicals of 1925" at $35 and may be purchased at the box office, 12pm-6pm, Monday through Saturday.

Tagged in this Story