TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Carmen de Lavallade, Jerry Mitchell, and More to Be Honored at Actors Fund Ball

Bebe Neuwirth and Caitlin Carter will produce and direct the masquerade event.

Carmen de Lavallade will be presented with a special Actors Fund Medal of Honor at the Career Transition for Dancers Masquerade Ball.
(© Joseph Marzullo)

The Actors Fund has announced that they will honor 2017 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award winner Baayork Lee; Tony and Drama Desk Award winner Jerry Mitchell; Emmy winner John Deluca, and Tony nominee and Emmy and Academy Award winner Rob Marshall at the organization's Career Transition for Dancers Masquerade Ball on Wednesday, October 31, at the Marriott Marquis. In addition, Carmen de Lavallade will be presented with a special Actors Fund Medal of Honor.

The evening will be produced and directed by Tony and Emmy winner Bebe Neuwirth and actress and choreographer Caitlin Carter. It will include special tribute performances by dancers including tap dancers Luke Hawkins and Evan Ruggiero, the Paul Taylor Dance Company, American Ballet Theatre, the Fosse Estate, Dance Theater of Harlem, Carolyn Dorfman Dance, Camille A. Brown, David Dorfman Dance, and the Maria Torres Company.

The Actors Fund and Career Transition for Dancers (CTFD) merged their services to the dance community in 2015. The merger integrated the services of CTFD into the ongoing programs of the Actors Fund, a human services organization that helps everyone who works in entertainment and the performing arts.