TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Brown, Itzin, Metcalf, Williams, et al. Receive LADCC Nominations logo
Gregory Itzin in Shipwrecked
(© Henry DiRocco)
Nominations have been announced for the 39th annual Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Awards, to be presented on March 17 at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. Jason Graae, who will receive the Joel Hirschorn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Theater, will host the event.

Jason Robert Brown's musical 13 received five nominations, including Best Production, Best Musical Direction, Best Ensemble Performance, and two for Brown for Writing and Score.

Jane Anderson's play The Quality of Life will receive the Ted Schmitt Award for Outstanding World Premiere Play, and received nominations for Best Production as well as for actors Dennis Boutsakaris, Laurie Metcalf, and JoBeth Williams.

Other shows that received multiple nominations include dark stories for boys, Love Loves a Pornographer, Zanna, Dont!, In Arabia We'd All Be Kings, Sleeping Beauty Wakes, and Winter Wonderettes.

Among the 19 actors who received nominations were Misty Cotton (A Little Night Music), Gregory Itzin (Shipwrecked: An Entertainment), Alan Mandell (Trying), Matt Letscher (Anatol), and Rex Smith (The Pirates of Penzance).

Special awards will also be presented to theater companies Musical Theatre West and Theater Banshee, lighting designer Leigh Allen, and ASL interpreter Jon Maher.

Tagged in this Story