TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Matthew Broderick Joins List of Presenters at New York Innovative Theatre Awards

The 13th annual ceremony celebrates the off-off-Broadway season of work.

Matthew Broderick will present the award for Outstanding Musical at the 13th Annual New York Innovative Theatre Awards.
(© Tricia Baron)

Two-time Tony winner Matthew Broderick will join the 13th Annual New York Innovative Theatre Awards on Monday, September 25, presenting the award for Outstanding Musical.

Earlier this week, it was announced that Broderick was cast as the narrator in the live television production of A Christmas Story, set to air on Fox on Sunday, December 17. He has earned Tony Awards for his performances in Brighton Beach Memoirs and How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying and earned an additional nomination for his performance as Leo Bloom in The Producers. His recent stage credits also include Sylvia, It's Only a Play, and Nice Work If You Can Get It on Broadway, as well as off-Broadway productions of Evening at the Talk House (Signature Theatre) and Shining City (Irish Repertory Theatre).

The New York Innovative Theatre Foundation, an organization which, for the past 13 years, has been dedicated to celebrating off-off-Broadway, will present 26 awards for outstanding achievement in a ceremony at the Gerald Lynch Theatre located in the John Jay College of Criminal Justice. The ceremony will be written by Brian Silliman, hosted for the fourth time by Jason Kravits, and directed by DeLisa White.

The 2017 recipients will be awarded from a pool of 176 individual artists, 48 different productions and 52 different theater companies. Nominated productions were seen on stages in Queens, Brooklyn, and Manhattan. Additional presenters include Angel Desai, Charles Busch, David Pittu, Jennifer Van Dyck, Lane Harwell, John Arnone (scenic designer), Jen Schriever (lighting designer), Darron West (sound designer), Adam Gwon (composer), Allison Benko (director), and producer Tom Viertel.

For tickets and more information, click here.