TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson to Record Album on Sh-K-Boom/Ghostlight Label logo
Benjamin Walker (center) and company
in Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
(© Joan Marcus)
Alex Timbers and Michael Friedman's new musical Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson will be recorded for the Sh-K-Boom/Ghostlight Records label on April 26. A release date will be announced shortly.

The musical, currently at the Public Theater through May 9, takes a sharp, irreverent look at America's seventh president, Andrew Jackson. It features a book by Timbers, with music and lyrics by Friedman. The album will be produced by Kurt Deutsch and Dean Sharenow.

The production stars Benjamin Walker in the title role, and also includes River Aguirre as Lyncoya, James Barry as Male Soloist, Michael Crane as Clay/Blackhawk, Michael Dunn as Calhoun, Greg Hildreth as Red Eagle, Jeff Hiller as John Quincy Adams, Lucas Near-Verbrugghe as Martin Van Buren, Maria Elena Ramirez as Rachel, Kate Cullen Roberts as Elizabeth, Ben Steinfeld as Monroe, Colleen Werthmann as The Storyteller, and Emily Young as Female Soloist.

The album's tracks will include "Populism, Yea, Yea!," "I'm Not That Guy," "Oh, Andrew Jackson," "Illness As Metaphor," "I'm So That Guy," "Ten Little Indians," "The Corrupt Bargain," "Rock Star," "The Great Compromise," "Public Life," "Crisis Averted 1," "Crisis Averted 2," "The Saddest Song," "Second Nature," and "The Hunters of Kentucky."

For TheaterMania's review of the Public's production, click here.


Tagged in this Story