TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Laura Benanti, Martha Plimpton, and More Set to Perform at Theatre Forward Gala

The evening will honor Fully Committed star Jesse Tyler Ferguson.

Laura Benanti will perform at Theatre Forward's gala on April 11.
(© David Gordon)

Theatre Forward has announced the lineup for its annual Chairman's Awards Gala, which will take place April 11 at The Pierre. The event supports the creation of theatrical works and arts education at the country's leading nonprofit theaters.

Broadway veteran and five-time Emmy Award nominee Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family), who currently stars in the comedy Fully Committed, will be honored with the Theatre Artist Award. In addition, John R. Dutt, former vice president and chief litigation counsel for Marsh & McLennan Companies Inc. and Theatre Forward board member, will receive the Theatre Forward Leadership Award. Pamela Farr and Buford Alexander; Joseph F. Kirk, NY-CT Region President, Wells Fargo; and Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP will serve as event cochairs.

The evening will include an opening number by Kevin Duda (Beautiful — The Carole King Musical) and Jason Michael Snow (The Book of Mormon), as well as appearances by Matt Gould and Griffin Matthews (Invisible Thread), with Benjamin Scheuer performing a number from his show The Lion. Newly added to the lineup are She Loves Me star Laura Benanti, Jessica Molaskey, Nathaniel Stampley, Marva Hicks, and Steven Ratazzi. The opening number will feature Raymond J. Lee, John Riddle, Lindsey Brett Carothers, and Tamika Lawrence. Martha Plimpton will present Ferguson's award, with On Your Feet!'s Ana Villafañe presenting Dutt's.

The gala will support new work at Theatre Forward's founding theaters. Theatre Forward was formerly known as National Corporate Theatre Fund.