TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Bat Boy and Medea Among This Season's Elliot Norton Award Winners logo
Bat Boy
On Monday, May 19, the best in Boston theater was celebrated with the presentation of the 21st annual Elliot Norton Awards.

Long Day's Journey Into Night star Brian Dennehy was the guest of honor at the ceremony, which took place at the recently renovated Cutler Majestic Theatre. Voted by the Boston Theater Critics Association, the awards are named for former Boston Herald critic Elliot Norton, whose 100th birthday is this year.

A complete list of this year's winners follows:


Outstanding Musical Production
Bat Boy, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding New Script
The Blowin of Baile Gall by Ronan Noone, Boston Playwrights Theatre

Outstanding Solo Performance
Annette Miller, Golda's Balcony, Shakespeare & Company

Outstanding Production by a Large Visiting Company
Medea, The Abbey Theatre

Outstanding Production by a Small Visiting Company
A New War, Wellfleet Harbor Actors Theatre

Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Company
Highway Ulysses, American Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Production by a Small Resident Company
Betrayal, Nora Theatre Company

Outstanding Production by a Local Fringe Company
Spinning Into Butter, The Theatre Cooperative

Outstanding Actress, Large Company
Fiona Shaw, Medea

Outstanding Actress, Small Company
Laura Latreille, The Shape of Things, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Actress, Fringe Company
Naeemah A. White-Peppers, Bee-Luther-Hatchee and Chain, Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Actor, Large Company
Arliss Howard, Uncle Vanya, American Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Actor, Small Company
Bill Meleady, Howie the Rookie and The Lepers of Baile Baiste (Sugan Theatre Company) and The Blowin of Baile Gall (Boston Playwrights Theatre)

Outstanding Director, Large Company
Anne Bogart, La Dispute, American Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Director, Small Company
Paul Daigneault, Passion and Bat Boy, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Set Design, Large Company
David P. Gordon, The Blue Demon, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Set Design, Small Company
Richard Chambers, The Blowin of Baile Gall, Boston Playwrights Theatre

Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence
Jeremiah Kissel

Tagged in this Story