TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Annie Baker, Amy Herzog, Laura Marks, and More Among Susan Smith Blackburn Prize Finalists

Nominated plays include The Flick, Belleville, Bethany, and The Good Mother.

Annie Baker
(© David Gordon)
Karen Ardiff's (Ireland) The Goddess Of Liberty, Annie Baker's (U.S.) The Flick, Jean Betts's (New Zealand) Genesis Falls, Deborah Bruce's (U.K.) The Distance, Katherine Chandler's (U.K.) Before It Rains, Amy Herzog's (U.S.) Belleville, Dawn King's (U.K.) Foxfinder, Laura Marks' (U.S.) Bethany, Jenny Schwartz's (U.S.) Somewhere Fun, and Francine Volpe's (U.S.) The Good Mother have been announced as the ten finalists for the 2012-2013 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.

The prize, now celebrating its thirty-fifth year, honors an outstanding new English-language play written by a woman each year. Seven Blackburn Finalist plays have gone on to win the Pulitzer Prize in Drama.

This year's winner will be announced on March 17 at the Alley Theatre in Houston, Texas, in a ceremony that will include selected excerpts from the finalists' plays presented by five of Houston's professional theater companies. The winner will be awarded $25,000, and will also receive a signed print by celebrated artist Willem de Kooning. Each of the additional finalists will receive $2,500.

The international panel of Judges for the 2013 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize includes Mandy Greenfield, artistic producer of the Manhattan Theatre Club; Tony Award-winning actress Cynthia Nixon; award-winning Broadway and regional stage director Michael Wilson; Laura Collier, head of the National Theatre Studio; Matt Wolf, London editor of and London theater critic of the International Herald Tribune; and BAFTA Award-winning actor and writer Susan Wooldridge.