TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Anne Bogart, Rinde Eckert, Young Jean Lee, Basil Twist Among Doris Duke Artists

Basil Twist
(© David Gordon)
The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation has announced the 21 performing artists in contemporary dance, jazz, theatre and multidisciplinary work who have been named as the inaugural Doris Duke Artists.

They will share a total of $5.775 million in this new initiative, with each member of the first class receiving an unrestricted, multi-year cash grant of $225,000, plus as much as $50,000 more in targeted support for retirement savings and audience development.

Creative Capital, DDCF's primary partner in the Doris Duke Performing Artist Awards, will also offer the awardees the opportunity to take part in professional development activities, financial and legal counseling, and grantee gatherings--all designed to help them maximize the use of their grants.

Recipients include Anne Bogart, theatre; Don Byron, jazz; Wally Cardona, dance; Rinde Eckert, multidisciplinary performance; Bill Frisell, jazz; Deborah Hay, dance; John Hollenbeck, jazz; Vijay Iyer, jazz; Marc Bamuthi Joseph, multidisciplinary performance; Elizabeth LeCompte, theatre; Young Jean Lee, theatre; Ralph Lemon, dance; Richard Maxwell, theatre; Sarah Michelson, dance; Bebe Miller, dance; Nicole Mitchell, jazz; Meredith Monk, multidisciplinary performance; Eiko Otake, dance; Takashi Koma Otake, dance; Basil Twist, theatre; and Reggie Wilson, dance.

The Doris Duke Artist Awards and the Doris Duke Impact Awards will be announced in classes of approximately twenty between 2012 and 2016, and 2014 and 2018, respectively.

Click here for more information on the Doris Duke Performing Artist Awards.