TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Sweeney Todd Reunion! Len Cariou and Victor Garber Honor Angela Lansbury

Lansbury received the York Theatre Company's Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre.

It was a reunion of the original cast of Sweeney Todd as Victor Garber and Len Cariou helped the York Theatre Company honor Angela Lansbury.
(© Kristin Goehring)

Five-time Tony winner Angela Lansbury was honored on November 16 at the York Theatre Company's annual gala. Lansbury received the 2015 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre.

Featured performers included Lansbury's original Sweeney Todd costars Len Cariou and Victor Garber, along with Mario Cantone (Steve), Erin Davie (Side Show), James Earl Jones (The Gin Game), Matt McGrath (Steve), Alan Menken (Aladdin), Brian Stokes Mitchell (Shuffle Along), Brad Oscar (Something Rotten!), Karen Ziemba (Bullets Over Broadway), and the Yale Wiffenpoofs.

Check out TheaterMania's photos in the gallery below.


The legendary Lansbury received Tonys for her performances as Mame Dennis in Mame (1966), Countess Aurelia in Dear World (1969), Rose in Gypsy (1975), Mrs. Lovett in Sweeney Todd (1979), and Madame Arcati in Blithe Spirit (2009).

The York Theatre Company is the only theater in New York City dedicated to developing and fully producing new musicals and preserving neglected, notable shows from the past.