TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Andre De Shields, Bill Irwin, Everett Quinton Set for La Mama's 50th Anniversary Celebration logo
Bill Irwin
(© David Gordon)
La MaMa E.T.C. is set to present La MaMa 50 Big Bash, a celebration of its 50th anniversary, June 24 at 6pm at NYU's Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Michael Mayer will direct, and Andre De Shields will host the event.

The event will honor co-chief executive officers of The Shubert Organization Philip J. Smith and Robert E. Wankel with the Silver Bell Award for the organization's long-standing support. In addition, Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman, the Tony Award-winning composers of the musical Hairspray, will serve as co-chairs.

One of the celebration's highlights will be a performance from La MaMa Cantata, a musical work about the life and times of Ellen Stewart, created by the Tony Award-winning composer Elizabeth Swados.

The evening's performers will include Tony Award winner Bill Irwin, Adrian Bailey, Everett Quinton, and composer Tan Dun.


Tagged in this Story