TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Leslie Odom Jr., Ben Platt, and More to Perform at 61st Annual Obie Awards

Orange Is the New Black's Lea DeLaria will host the annual ceremony.

Dear Evan Hansen star Ben Platt will perform at the 61st Annual Obie Awards ceremony on May 23.
(© David Gordon)

The American Theatre Wing and the Village Voice have announced the lineup of presenters set for the 61st Annual Obie Awards, hosted by Lea DeLaria. The ceremony will be held on Monday, May 23, at Webster Hall.

The roster will include Obie Award winner Colman Domingo, Obie Award winner Danai Gurira, Maura Tierney, Kate Burton, Obie Award winner Savion Glover, three-time Obie Award winner Elizabeth Marvel, Carrie Preston, Norm Lewis, Obie Award winner Tovah Feldshuh, Marlo Thomas, and two-time Obie Award winner Lisa Kron.

The evening will include special performances by cast members of Orange Is The New Black, 2016 Tony Award nominee Leslie Odom Jr. (Hamilton), and Ben Platt (Dear Evan Hansen).

Legendary actor, dancer, and choreographer Carmen de Lavallade and renowned playwright A.R. Gurney will each receive a special Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement at this year's ceremony.

The Obie Award judges panel for this season, headed by Village Voice columnist Obie chairman, and TheaterMania contributor Michael Feingold, included Obie-winning actress Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Obie-winning director Oliver Butler, Obie-winning costume designer Clint Ramos, Obie-winning actress Juliet Rylance, Variety senior critic Marilyn Stasio, and freelance theater critic Michael Sommers.

For tickets to the awards ceremony, click here.