TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

58th Annual Emmy Award Nominations Announced; High School Musical Gets Six Nods logo
Zac Efron and Vanessa Anne Hudgens
in High School Musical
Tony Award winners Ellen Burstyn, Stockard Channing, Blythe Danner, Jeremy Irons, Hugh Jackman, Shirley Knight, and Swoosie Kurtz are among the nominees for the 58th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, which will be presented on Sunday, August 27 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. The ceremony will be aired live on NBC-TV.

Other theater veterans who gained nominations include Alan Alda, Alec Baldwin, Kathy Bates, Annette Bening, Kate Burton, Patricia Clarkson, Frances Conroy, Michael Imperioli, Shirley Jones, Leslie Jordan, Peter Krause, Christopher Meloni, Debra Messing, Laurie Metcalf, Helen Mirren, Megan Mullally, Sandra Oh, Jeremy Piven, Oliver Platt, Kyra Sedgwick, Tony Shalhoub, Jean Smart, Patrick Stewart, Ben Stiller, Chandra Wilson, and Alfre Woodard.

Disney's High School Musical earned six nominations, including Outstanding Children's Programming, Outstanding Directing, Outstanding Choreography, Outstanding Casting, and two nominations for Outstanding Music and Lyrics. Also nominated in that last category was the ABC-TV remake of Once Upon a Mattress for the song "That Baby of Mine" by Ken and Mitzi Welch; the show also got a nomination for its costumes.

South Pacific: In Concert From Carnegie Hall was nominated for Outstanding Special Class Program along with 30 Years of Live from Lincoln Center. HBO's All Aboard! Rosie's Family Cruise picked up numerous nominations, including Outstanding Nonfiction Special.

For a complete list of nominees, visit

Tagged in this Story