TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Heidi Schreck, Martyna Majok, Lauren Yee, and More Named Finalists for Blackburn Prize

The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize is the oldest and largest prize given to women playwrights.

Heidi Schreck, the writer and star of What the Constitution Means to Me.
(© Joan Marcus)

The 2019 finalists for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, the oldest and largest prize given to women playwrights, have been announced.

The list of 10 finalists is as follows: Hilary Bettis for 72 Miles to Go..., Jackie Sibblies Drury for Fairview, Debbie Tucker Green for Ear for Eye, Ella Hickson for The Writer, Martyna Majok for Sanctuary City, Lily Padilla for How to Defend Yourself, Nina Raine for Stories, Ella Road for The Phlebotomist, Heidi Schreck for What the Constitution Means to Me, and Lauren Yee for Cambodian Rock Band.

The Winner of the 2019 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize will be named on Monday, March 4 at Shakespeare's Globe in London. The winner will be awarded a cash prize of $25,000 and will also receive a signed print by artist Willem de Kooning. Each of the additional finalists will receive an award of $5,000.