TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Playwrights Realm, Ars Nova, and More to Receive National Theatre Company Grants

The American Theatre Wing has selected 12 companies from across the country to receive operating support.

A scene from Sarah DeLappe's The Wolves, presented by the Playwrights Realm, recipient of a 2017 National Theatre Company grant.
(© Daniel J. Vasquez)

The American Theatre Wing has announced the recipients of its 2017 National Theatre Company grants.

This year's nine Initial Support recipients are: Blackout Theatre Company (Albuquerque, New Mexico), Chicago Children's Theatre (Chicago), Forward Theater Company (Madison, Wisconsin), Jewel Theatre Company (Santa Cruz, California), Road Less Traveled Productions (Buffalo, New York), Short North Stage (Columbus, Ohio), The Millibo Art Theatre (Colorado Springs, Colorado), the Playwrights Realm (New York), and Theatre Horizon (Norristown, Pennsylvania). The Second-Time Support grant recipients are the following three companies: Ars Nova (New York), Congo Square Theatre Company (Chicago), and the NOLA Project (New Orleans).

Initial Support grants for the 2017 cycle in the amount of $10,000 each will be distributed to the selected companies for general operating support, while Second-Time Support grants in the amount of $10,000 each will be distributed for general operating support to companies who have already received the National Theatre Company Grant in grant cycles occurring between 2010 and 2015.

"The 12 theater companies that we have bestowed with year's grants have demonstrated their invaluable impact on their local communities," said Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theatre Wing. "I am proud to be continuing the Wing's development and outreach to young and established theater companies as they continue to enrich their respective communities by producing outstanding work with these grants."

The grants will be presented to this year's recipients on Monday, October 30, at a private event.