TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2005 Touring Broadway Award Winners Announced logo
Movin' Out, The Graduate, Mamma Mia!, and The Producers are among the winners of the 2005 Touring Broadway Awards (formerly the National Broadway Theatre Awards), which are given out by The League of American Theatres and Producers, Inc. The awards will be presented on Tuesday, May 10 at a ceremony at the Hilton Hotel in New York City.

"The Touring Broadway Awards recognize the best of the road each season, and nurture a sense of community among Touring Broadway, making Broadway the longest street in the world," stated Jed Bernstein, president of the League. This year's recipients are as follows:

Best New Musical:
Movin' Out
Producers: James L. Nederlander, Hal Luftig, Scott E. Nederlander, Terry Allen Kramer, Clear Channel Entertainment, Emanuel Azenberg

Best Play:
The Graduate
Author: Terry Johnson; Producers: Jon B. Platt in association with Nancy Rose

Best Production Design:
Little Shop of Horrors
Best Scenic Design: Scott Pask; Best Costume Design: William Ivey Long; Best Lighting Design: Donald Holder

Best Musical Score:
Music: John Kander; Lyrics: Fred Ebb

Best Direction:
Susan Stroman, The Producers

Best Choreography:
Twyla Tharp, Movin' Out

Best Long-Running Musical:
Mamma Mia!
Producers: Judy Craymer, Richard East and Björn Ulvaeus for Littlestar in association with Universal

Touring Broadway Career Achievement Award:
Alan Ross Kosher: Company Manager, The Lion King

Tagged in this Story