TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2005 Nightlife Awards Update logo
Tony Danza
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
Tony Danza, who is well known for his television, cabaret, and stage work, has been added as a presenter of the 2005 Nightlife Awards, to be bestowed on Monday, January 31 at The Town Hall (123 West 43rd Street) at 7pm. Other presenters recently named are Alice Ripley, Polly Bergen, and Andrea McArdle. It has also been confirmed that both Keely Smith and Karen Akers, who won this year's award for Oustanding Cabaret Female Vocalist in a tie, will perform.

The Nightlife Awards honor the best of New York's cabaret, comedy, and jazz by having the award winners perform rather than deliver acceptance speeches. This year's ceremony will be hosted by Bruce Vilanch, the current star of the Broadway production of Hairspray. Set to receive or present awards are such notables as Leslie Anderson, Joy Behar, Ann Hampton Callaway, Liz Callaway, Jim Caruso, Bill Charlap, Kate Clinton, Julie Halston, Allan Harris, Dick Latessa, Ute Lemper, the Joe Lovano Quartet, Joe Mantello, Carolyn Montgomery, Phillip Officer, Ruby Rims, Bobby Tisdale, Lennie Watts, Paula West, and Peter Yawitz. (The stars of Broadway's Little Women, Sutton Foster and Maureen McGovern, were originally announced as presenters but are no longer scheduled to appear.) For a complete list of 2005 Nightlife Award winners, click here.

Tickets to the awards show range in price from $25 to $75; they may be purchased by clicking here or by calling 212-307-4100. For more information about the Nightlife Awards, call 212-365-4345 or e-mail [email protected].

Tagged in this Story