TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2005 Drama League Award Nominees Announced logo
Cherry Jones
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
The nominees for the 71st annual Drama League Awards have just been announced. The awards luncheon and ceremony will be held on Friday, May 13 in the Broadway Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis hotel (1535 Broadway at 46th Street) and will be hosted by Cherry Jones.

The Drama League honors excellence in New York theater. In addition to its Distinguished Production and Distinguished Performance awards, the organization will this year present special awards to Mike Nichols (the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing), the Billy Rose Theatre Collection at the New York Public Library at Lincoln Center (the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award), and the BMI Musical Theatre Workshop (the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award).

For the first time in the history of the awards ceremony, tickets will be available to the general public. Priced at $150, they include admission to the ceremony and a one-year Drama League membership. For more information or to purchase tickets, call 212-244-9494, ext. 5, or visit the website

The list of nominations for Distinguished Production awards follows:

Distinguished Production of a Play
The Day Emily Married
Death and the Ploughman
A Number
Orson's Shadow
The Pillowman

Distinguished Revival of a Play
Glengarry Glen Ross
Rose Rage
Twelve Angry Men
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Distinguished Production of a Musical
Altar Boyz
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
The Frogs
Ghetto Superstar
The Light in the Piazza
The Musical of Musicals
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Distinguished Revival of a Musical
La Cage aux Folles
Pacific Overtures
Shockheaded Peter

Tagged in this Story