TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2004 Lucille Lortel Award Nominees Announced; Frozen and Valhalla Lead the Pack logo
Swoosie Kurtz, Laila Robins, and Brian F. O'Byrne
in a publicity photo for Frozen
The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers has announced the nominees for the 2004 Lucille Lortel Awards, which celebrate excellent in Off-Broadway theater. MCC's Frozen and the New York Theatre Workshop's Valhalla led the nominations with six each. The awards will be presented on Monday, May 3, at the Minetta Lane Theatre (18 Minetta Lane) beginning at 7pm, followed by a celebration at the restaurant Eugene.

The ceremony will also include the presentation of three special honors: the Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence to Kathleen Chalfant, an award for Unique Theatrical Experience to Noche Flamenca, and an award for Outstanding Body of Work to the Public Theater. In addition, Tony Kushner will be inducted into the Playwrights' Sidewalk.

A limited number of tickets to the ceremony will be available to the public via Ticketmaster (212-307-4100) and the Minetta Lane Theatre box office (212-420-8000) as of April 6. All tickets are priced at $50. A complete list of the 2004 award nominees follows:


Outstanding Play
Bug by Tracy Letts
Frozen by Bryony Lavery
The Long Christmas Ride Home by Paula Vogel
Small Tragedy by Craig Lucas
Valhalla by Paul Rudnick

Outstanding Musical
Caroline, or Change, book and lyrics by Tony Kushner, music by Jeanine Tesori
Johnny Guitar, book by Nicholas van Hoogstraten, music by Martin Silvestri and Joel Higgins, lyrics by Joel Higgins
The Musical of Musicals: The Musical!, music by Erick Rockwell, lyrics by Joanne Bogart, book by Eric Rockwell and Joanne Bogart

Outstanding Solo Show
I Am My Own Wife by Doug Wright, performed by Jefferson Mays
Sarah Jones: bridge & tunnel, written and performed by Sarah Jones
Women on Fire by Irene O'Garden, performed by Judith Ivey

Outstanding Director
Christopher Ashley, Valhalla
Mark Brokaw, The Long Christmas Ride Home
Dexter Bullard, Bug
Doug Hughes, Frozen
Moisés Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife

Oustanding Choreographer
Hope Clarke, Caroline, or Change
Daniel Pelzig, Valhalla
Martín Santangelo, Noche Flamenca

Outstanding Lead Actor
Peter Frechette, Valhalla
Brían F. O'Byrne, Frozen
Lee Pace, Small Tragedy
Michael Shannon, Bug
Richard Thomas, The Stendhal Syndrome

Outstanding Lead Actress
Lisa Emery, Iron
Jayne Houdyshell, Well
Swoosie Kurtz, Frozen
Zilah Mendoza, Living Out
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change

Outstanding Featured Actor
Rob Campbell, Small Tragedy
Daniel Eric Gold, Small Tragedy
Gordon MacDonald, Trumbo
Will McCormack, The Long Christmas Ride Home
Mark Rosenthal, The Moonlight Room

Outstanding Featured Actress
Liza Colón-Zayas, Living Out
Kathryn Layng, The Moonlight Room
Laila Robins, Frozen
Anika Noni Rose, Caroline, or Change
Margaret Welsh, Big Bill

Outstanding Scenic Design
Scott Bradley, The Notebooks of Leonardo Da Vinci
Tim Hatley, Humble Boy
Derek McLane, I Am My Own Wife
Ajene D. Washington, American Menu

Outstanding Costume Design
Linda Cho, The Two Noble Kinsmen
William Ivey Long, Valhalla
Paul Tazewell, Caroline, or Change
Kaye Voyce, Johnny Guitar
Catherine Zuber, The Beard of Avon

Outstanding Lighting Design
Christopher Akerlind, Well
David Lander, I Am My Own Wife
Tyler Micoleau, Bug
Kenneth Posner, Valhalla
Clifton Taylor, Frozen

Outstanding Sound Design
John Gromada, Small Tragedy
Robert Kaplowitz, The Story
Brian Ronan, Bug
David Van Tieghem, The Long Christmas Ride Home

Tagged in this Story