TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2003-2004 OBIE Awards Bestowed at Webster Hall

Zilah Mendoza in Living Out
(Photo © Joan Marcus)
The 2003-2004 Village Voice OBIE Awards were presented last evening at Webster Hall in a ceremony hosted by Swoosie Kurtz and Raúl Esparza. A complete list of the winners follows:

Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel
Lisa Emery, Iron
Jayne Houdyshell, Well
Sarah Jones, Bridge & Tunnel
Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife
Zilah Mendoza, Living Out
Maude Mitchell, Mabou Mines dollHouse
Brían F. O'Byrne, Frozen
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change
Lili Taylor, Aunt Dan and Lemon
The acting company of Bug (Shannon Cochran, Michael Shannon, Michael Cullen, Amy Landecker, and Reed Birney)
The acting company of Small Tragedy (Ana Reeder, Mary Shultz, Rob Campbell, Daniel Eric Gold, Lee Pace, Rosemarie DeWitt)

Lee Breuer, Mabou Mines dollHouse
Moisés Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife

Best American Play
Small Tragedy, by Craig Lucas

The design team of Bug: Lauren Helpern (sets), Tyler Micoleau (lights), Brian Ronan (sound), Kim Gill (costumes), Faye Armon (props)
Derek McLane, set design (I Am My Own Wife, Aunt Dan and Lemon, Intimate Apparel)

Robert Een, Hiroshima Maiden

Special Citation
Pieter-Dirk Uys, Foreign AIDS
Tony Kushner and Jeanine Tesori, Caroline, or Change
Soho Rep, Molly's Dream
The Builders Association and Otiroti, Alladeen Kyle Jarrow and Alex Timbers, A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant
George C. Wolfe, for his stewardship of The Public Theater
Martin Moran, The Tricky Part
Terry Nemeth, Play Publishing, TCG

The Civilians
Musicals Tonight
THAW (Theaters Against War)

The Ross Wetzsteon Memorial Award
St. Ann's Warehouse (Susan Feldman, artistic director)

Lifetime Achievement
Mark Russell