TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

John Caird, Josh Grisetti, Harry Groener, Sally Struthers, et al. Among Ovation Award Winners

Josh Grisetti
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The Ovation Award winners for 2009-2010 have been announced. The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on January 17 at the Thousand Oaks Civic Plaza.

The biggest winners were Fountain Theatre, which received, among others, the Best Season award; and The Geffen Playhouse. Both companies earned five award a piece.

The musical Daddy Long Legs received three awards including one for John Caird for Book for an Original Musical and for Paul Gordon for Music/Lyrics for an Original Musical. In addition, Megan McGinnis received the honor for Lead Actress in a Musical for her performance as Jerusha in the show.

For Lead Actor in a Musical, there were three winners: Josh Grisetti (How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying), Brendan Hunt (Savin' Up for Saturday Night) and Robert J. Townsend (The Story of My Life). The Lead Actor in a Play award was also presented triply: to Bruce French (The Browning Version), Alan Mandell (No Man's Land), and Daniel Beaty (Through the Night). A pair of awards for Lead Actress in a Play were presented to Beth Grant (Grace & Glorie) and Anna Khaja (SHAHEED - The Dream and Death of Benazir Bhutto).

Acting winners in Featured categories included Harry Groener (Equivocation), Deirdre O'Connell (The Wake), David St. Louis (Parade), and Sally Struthers (Cinderella).

For further information, click here.


Tagged in this Story